I would like to share my first attempt at making miniature jam jars for my Sylvanians. I found it tricky at times. This will be a step-by-step report.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

First, you need to make a ‘glass’ jar out of plastic.  I used mainly methods shown by SugarCharmsShop in her  tiny Nutella tutorial.

I made a mold out of modeling clay in the shape I wanted and baked it.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

You need a piece of plastic from the packaging of the things you buy, and use a tea candle to warm it up. It needs to be enough thick not to melt too easily when heated. (ATTENTION! Children should not do this unless under parental supervision.)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Yoy shape the plastic while its hot. I made some mistakes before it started to look the way I wanted.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I cut the pieces of the jar. You need to halfs for each jar.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

You need something inside to glue the two pieces together. In my case, it was raspberry and blackberry jam.

You need another mold you make from the one you already have- just press it in another piece of modeling clay* and bake.

(*Edit: I made the mistake of using modeling clay to make a mold. Now I know I should have used special mold putty for this purpose, that would eliminate the problems I had with taking my jam out of the mold after baking))

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I made the jam using modeling clay and liquid Fimo. I didn’t have the right colour clay, so I added some acrylic paint.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Then, I put my jam in the mold and baked it.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

That part was most tricky for me. The jam after baking was not as smooth and hard as I wanted, and it was not easy to take it out of the mold.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Netherveless, I made a couple of these and used these scraps. I glued them together trying to shape them as the contents of the jar. It was very messy, because I painted it some more with acrylics at the same time. I recommend using gloves at this point.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Then, I glued it together with the plastic halfs of the jar.I used transparent polymeric glue for this, but any crafts glue which turns transparent after it binds will be fine.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Then I made the lid. I used regular drawing paper ( a bit thicker type) for this. You cut out a circle and glue a thin strip of paper to it. Then glue it to the jar.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After that I made a cover for the lid. I used one layer from toilet paper. ( I could have used tissue as well, I suppose). I drew a check pattern and sprayed with matt craft varnish.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
It is easier to make a tiny bow, when the piece of string is long enough.( Which means really long).
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Then I made a label. I did not have a sharpie, so I used regular sharp pensil to write.(‘Jam’ on one, and ‘Blackberries’ on the other jar).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial. Thanks for looking and/or reading! 🙂mniam1

